astronomy, NASA, photos, space

Clouds in the LMC

An alluring sight in southern skies, the Large Magellanic Cloud (LMC) is seen in this deep and detailed telescopic mosaic. Recorded with broadband and narrowband filters, the scene spans some 5 degrees or 10 full moons. The narrowband filters are designed to transmit only light emitted by hydrogen, and oxygen atoms. Ionized by energetic starlight, the atoms emit their characteristic light as electrons are recaptured and the atoms transition to a lower energy state. As a result, in this image the LMC seems covered with its own clouds of ionized gas surrounding its massive, young stars. Sculpted by the strong stellar winds and ultraviolet radiation, the glowing clouds, dominated by emission from hydrogen, are known as H II (ionized hydrogen) regions. Itself composed of many overlapping H II regions, the Tarantula Nebula is the large star forming region at the left. The largest satellite of our Milky Way Galaxy, the LMC is about 15,000 light-years across and lies a mere 160,000 light-years away toward the constellation Dorado. via NASA
https://apod.nasa.gov/apod/ap180119.html
#alerts, #BreakingNews, #Earthquake, #EarthquakeAlert, #EarthTwerk, #news, #NewsDog, #USGS, #WorldNews

#Earthquake Detected! – M 5.3 – 41km W of Ayacucho, Peru

DYFI? – III

Time
2018-01-19 01:11:37 UTC
2018-01-18 20:11:37 -05:00 at epicenter
Location
13.185°S 74.607°W
Depth
61.70 km (38.34 mi)

#Earthquake Detected! – M 5.3 – 41km W of Ayacucho, Peru

https://earthquake.usgs.gov/earthquakes/eventpage/us2000cl06

#EarthTwerk

USGS Magnitude 4.5+ Earthquakes, Past Hour

#alerts, #BreakingNews, #Earthquake, #EarthquakeAlert, #EarthTwerk, #news, #NewsDog, #USGS, #WorldNews

#Earthquake Detected! – M 5.3 – 41km W of Ayacucho, Peru

DYFI? – III

Time
2018-01-19 01:11:37 UTC
2018-01-18 20:11:37 -05:00 at epicenter
Location
13.185°S 74.607°W
Depth
61.70 km (38.34 mi)

#Earthquake Detected! – M 5.3 – 41km W of Ayacucho, Peru

https://earthquake.usgs.gov/earthquakes/eventpage/us2000cl06

#EarthTwerk

USGS Magnitude 4.5+ Earthquakes, Past Hour

#alerts, #BreakingNews, #Earthquake, #EarthquakeAlert, #EarthTwerk, #news, #NewsDog, #USGS, #WorldNews

#Earthquake Detected! – M 5.5 – 81km S of Tual, Indonesia

PAGER – GREEN ShakeMap – IV

Time
2018-01-18 17:48:37 UTC
2018-01-19 02:48:37 +09:00 at epicenter
Location
6.392°S 132.887°E
Depth
9.26 km (5.75 mi)

#Earthquake Detected! – M 5.5 – 81km S of Tual, Indonesia

https://earthquake.usgs.gov/earthquakes/eventpage/usd0008ke6

#EarthTwerk

USGS Magnitude 4.5+ Earthquakes, Past Hour

#alerts, #BreakingNews, #Earthquake, #EarthquakeAlert, #EarthTwerk, #news, #NewsDog, #USGS, #WorldNews

#Earthquake Detected! – M 5.1 – 76km WSW of Puerto Madero, Mexico

Time
2018-01-18 14:58:44 UTC
2018-01-18 08:58:44 -06:00 at epicenter
Location
14.520°N 93.100°W
Depth
49.08 km (30.50 mi)

#Earthquake Detected! – M 5.1 – 76km WSW of Puerto Madero, Mexico

https://earthquake.usgs.gov/earthquakes/eventpage/us2000cksw

#EarthTwerk

USGS Magnitude 4.5+ Earthquakes, Past Hour

#alerts, #BreakingNews, #Earthquake, #EarthquakeAlert, #EarthTwerk, #news, #NewsDog, #USGS, #WorldNews

#Earthquake Detected! – M 5.7 – 270km WNW of Ozernovskiy, Russia

PAGER – GREEN ShakeMap – II

Time
2018-01-18 12:08:52 UTC
2018-01-18 22:08:52 +10:00 at epicenter
Location
52.566°N 152.980°E
Depth
447.58 km (278.11 mi)

#Earthquake Detected! – M 5.7 – 270km WNW of Ozernovskiy, Russia

https://earthquake.usgs.gov/earthquakes/eventpage/us2000ckqy

#EarthTwerk

USGS Magnitude 4.5+ Earthquakes, Past Hour