#alerts, #BreakingNews, #Earthquake, #EarthquakeAlert, #EarthTwerk, #news, #NewsDog, #USGS, #WorldNews

#Earthquake Detected! – M 5.2 – 34km WNW of Molibagu, Indonesia

Time
2018-01-15 06:31:50 UTC
2018-01-15 14:31:50 +08:00 at epicenter
Location
0.452°N 123.677°E
Depth
238.72 km (148.33 mi)

#Earthquake Detected! – M 5.2 – 34km WNW of Molibagu, Indonesia

https://earthquake.usgs.gov/earthquakes/eventpage/us2000cjmg

#EarthTwerk

USGS Magnitude 4.5+ Earthquakes, Past Hour

astronomy, NASA, photos, space

Rigel and the Witch Head Nebula

By starlight this eerie visage shines in the dark, a crooked profile evoking its popular name, the Witch Head Nebula. In fact, this entrancing telescopic portrait gives the impression that the witch has fixed her gaze on Orion’s bright supergiant star Rigel. More formally known as IC 2118, the Witch Head Nebula spans about 50 light-years and is composed of interstellar dust grains reflecting Rigel’s starlight. The blue color of the Witch Head Nebula and of the dust surrounding Rigel is caused not only by Rigel’s intense blue starlight but because the dust grains scatter blue light more efficiently than red. The same physical process causes Earth’s daytime sky to appear blue, although the scatterers in Earth’s atmosphere are molecules of nitrogen and oxygen. Rigel, the Witch Head Nebula, and gas and dust that surrounds them lie about 800 light-years away. via NASA
https://apod.nasa.gov/apod/ap180115.html
#alerts, #BreakingNews, #Earthquake, #EarthquakeAlert, #EarthTwerk, #news, #NewsDog, #USGS, #WorldNews

#Earthquake Detected! – M 4.6 – 10km NNW of Murghob, Tajikistan

Time
2018-01-15 02:58:50 UTC
2018-01-15 07:58:50 +05:00 at epicenter
Location
38.254°N 73.915°E
Depth
51.15 km (31.78 mi)

#Earthquake Detected! – M 4.6 – 10km NNW of Murghob, Tajikistan

https://earthquake.usgs.gov/earthquakes/eventpage/us2000cjls

#EarthTwerk

USGS Magnitude 4.5+ Earthquakes, Past Hour

#alerts, #BreakingNews, #Earthquake, #EarthquakeAlert, #EarthTwerk, #news, #NewsDog, #USGS, #WorldNews

#Earthquake Detected! – M 5.3 – 50km NE of Luganville, Vanuatu

Time
2018-01-15 02:28:35 UTC
2018-01-15 13:28:35 +11:00 at epicenter
Location
15.221°S 167.505°E
Depth
128.67 km (79.95 mi)

#Earthquake Detected! – M 5.3 – 50km NE of Luganville, Vanuatu

https://earthquake.usgs.gov/earthquakes/eventpage/us2000cjlj

#EarthTwerk

USGS Magnitude 4.5+ Earthquakes, Past Hour

#alerts, #BreakingNews, #Earthquake, #EarthquakeAlert, #EarthTwerk, #news, #NewsDog, #USGS, #WorldNews

#Earthquake Detected! – M 4.6 – 100km ENE of Bitung, Indonesia

Time
2018-01-14 21:44:47 UTC
2018-01-15 05:44:47 +08:00 at epicenter
Location
1.709°N 126.049°E
Depth
87.58 km (54.42 mi)

#Earthquake Detected! – M 4.6 – 100km ENE of Bitung, Indonesia

https://earthquake.usgs.gov/earthquakes/eventpage/us2000cjka

#EarthTwerk

USGS Magnitude 4.5+ Earthquakes, Past Hour

#alerts, #BreakingNews, #Earthquake, #EarthquakeAlert, #EarthTwerk, #news, #NewsDog, #USGS, #WorldNews

#Earthquake Detected! – M 5.5 – 110km WNW of Madang, Papua New Guinea

PAGER – GREEN ShakeMap – IV DYFI? – III

Time
2018-01-14 21:54:36 UTC
2018-01-15 07:54:36 +10:00 at epicenter
Location
4.799°S 144.899°E
Depth
65.18 km (40.50 mi)

#Earthquake Detected! – M 5.5 – 110km WNW of Madang, Papua New Guinea

https://earthquake.usgs.gov/earthquakes/eventpage/us2000cjkg

#EarthTwerk

USGS Magnitude 4.5+ Earthquakes, Past Hour

#alerts, #BreakingNews, #Earthquake, #EarthquakeAlert, #EarthTwerk, #news, #NewsDog, #USGS, #WorldNews

#Earthquake Detected! – M 4.9 – Fiji region

Time
2018-01-14 20:20:30 UTC
2018-01-15 08:20:30 +12:00 at epicenter
Location
14.413°S 173.717°E
Depth
615.05 km (382.17 mi)

#Earthquake Detected! – M 4.9 – Fiji region

https://earthquake.usgs.gov/earthquakes/eventpage/us2000cjjr

#EarthTwerk

USGS Magnitude 4.5+ Earthquakes, Past Hour

#alerts, #BreakingNews, #Earthquake, #EarthquakeAlert, #EarthTwerk, #news, #NewsDog, #USGS, #WorldNews

#Earthquake Detected! – M 4.7 – 93km NNW of Ishigaki, Japan

Time
2018-01-14 19:41:53 UTC
2018-01-15 03:41:53 +08:00 at epicenter
Location
25.078°N 123.699°E
Depth
10.00 km (6.21 mi)

#Earthquake Detected! – M 4.7 – 93km NNW of Ishigaki, Japan

https://earthquake.usgs.gov/earthquakes/eventpage/us2000cjjp

#EarthTwerk

USGS Magnitude 4.5+ Earthquakes, Past Hour